The Assembly of the Republic of Macedonia:

  • adopts and alters the Constitution of the Republic of Macedonia;
  • adopts laws and gives authentic interpretations of laws;
  • determines the public procurements;
  • adopts the Republic budget and the budget annual accounts;
  • adopts the spatial plan of the Republic;
  • ratifies international agreements;
  • decides on war and peace;
  • makes decisions concerning any changes of borders in the Republic;
  • makes decisions on acceding to or resigning from a union or community with other states;
  • issues a notice for a referendum;
  • makes decisions concerning the reserves of the Republic;
  • sets up councils;
  • elects the Government of the Republic of Macedonia;
  • elects judges to the Constitutional Court of the Republic of Macedonia;
  • elects, appoints and dismisses other holders of public and other offices determined by the Constitution and law;
  • exercises political control and supervision over the Government and other holders of public office responsible to the Assembly;
  • proclaims amnesties and
  • exercises other activities stipulated by the Constitution.

In order to exercise the duties within its sphere of competence, the Assembly adopts decisions, declarations, resolutions, recommendations and conclusions.